Advertisement

getting rid of OLEANDER

topic posted Tue, March 13, 2007 - 7:01 AM by  skywyn
Share/Save/Bookmark
Hi everyone I am new to this tribe, and have just bought a home in north texas. unfortunatly the only thing shading our back deck from the road is a BIG oleander bush.

We have a little one who is just crawling, and the bush must go.

I am from up north ( temperate rain forest) so I am new to hot weather gardening, and practicly no seasons.

I have no experiance with oleander at all except I know they are very poisonous.

any suggestions of how to completely remove the bush and roots,

Also any ideas of what to replace it with ? something pretty, and fast growing that will survive this crazy texas heat.
posted by:
skywyn
Dallas
Advertisement
  • Unsu...

Re: getting rid of OLEANDER

Tue, March 13, 2007 - 8:55 AM
    honestly, i think you are moving too fast. If you were moving to the same bioregion maybe you could pull off making changes soon after leaving (maybe.)

Since this is a whole new ecology for you, why don't you wait a year before you start eradicating things?
    • Re: getting rid of OLEANDER

Tue, March 13, 2007 - 9:12 AM
      Jordan, to let you know, oleander is toxic and many MANY deaths have been directly related to ingestion of leaves, ingestion of hot dogs and marshmallows roasted on the stems, and inhalation of the smoke when burned. Therefore, given that they have a young child of the "taste everything" stage, I think they are making a well-informed decision to eradicate this deadly plant from their yard. They also will save a lot of money because they will no longer have to worry about replacing their pipes after the next drought.

Tue, March 13, 2007 - 8:56 AM
    Oh I hate to say it, especially in this forum, but Round-Up is going to be your best friend.